Skip to main content

Consortium of Rural States (CORES) Multi-Institutional Pilot Program

The Clinical and Translational Science Awards (CTSA) of University of Utah (UU), University of New Mexico Health Sciences Center (UNM HSC), University of Kansas Medical Center (KUMC), University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences (UAMS), University of Kentucky (KU), and the University of Iowa (UI) solicit applications from all faculty members—senior as well as junior investigators—for pilot projects that will exemplify the CTSA mission of developing clinical and translational research, to promote and support the “bench to bedside to community and practice and back” goal of the NIH. The purpose of this funding announcement is to promote inter‐institutional collaboration across the CTSA consortium by funding innovative, translational research projects that involve three or more of these six CTSA institutions.

For additional information, please contact Breanne Johnson.

Past Recipients

Year of Award Investigators Investigator Departments Project Titles

University of Utah – Dr. Michael Andreae (PI, Prime)

University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences – Dr. Karen Dickinson (PI)

University of New Mexico – Dr. Anita Fernander (PI)

  Defining, Developing and Disseminating Effective Team Responses for Patient Prejudice Towards Perioperative Physicians through Simulation and Cognitive Task Analysis
2021 Marta McCrum, MD, MPH Surgery Emergency General Surgery Transfer Patterns and Clinical Outcomes in Rural States
2020 Brian Mickey, MD, PhD Psychiatry A Pilot Study of Repetitive Transcranial Magnetic
Stimulation (rTMS) for Treatment of Methamphetamine Use Disorder
2020 Candace Floyd, PhD Neurosurgery/Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation Pro-Inflammatory Lipid Biomarkers After SCI